The Global Intelligence Files The Global Intelligence Files by WikiLeaks Released 242291 Emails (Nov 5, 2012 3 PM)
Email ID 1797953 (original text)
SubjectRe: Oligarch Sitdown Opportunity...
Frommarko.papic@stratfor.com
To burton@stratfor.com, gfriedman@stratfor.com, matt.gertken@stratfor.com, zeihan@stratfor.com, goodrich@stratfor.com
DateJan 1, 1970 01:00
ReleasedFeb 29, 2012 11:00
   I've got nothing better to do on Oct 10-12 than to sit down with a shady
   Bulgarian billionaire whose handle is "Vinny". Maybe he can speak
   Bulgarian to me, which we in Serbia call "Eastern Serbian".
   ..
   ----- Original Message -----
   From: "Lauren Goodrich" <goodrich@stratfor.com>
   To: "Peter Zeihan" <zeihan@stratfor.com>, "Marko Papic"
   <marko.papic@stratfor.com>, "Lauren Goodrich" <goodrich@stratfor.com>,
   "George Friedman" <gfriedman@stratfor.com>, "Matt Gertken"
   <matt.gertken@stratfor.com>, "Fred Burton" <burton@stratfor.com>
   Sent: Monday, September 15, 2008 1:37:41 PM GMT -05:00 Columbia
   Subject: Oligarch Sitdown Opportunity...

   Just to fill everyone ina*|
    
   I have been contacted by Veni Markovsky, who is Bulgariaa**s billionaire
   telecommunications oligarch. He brought internet to like 9 eastern
   European countries. He is also very good pals with Michael Dell, who
   introduced him to us.
    
   Anyway, he is very interested in us and what we publish. He said that
   during the war, we were the only ones to a**get ita** & a**not be taken
   off guarda**.
    
   He is interested in talking about Russia (and other EE & CIS countries) in
   business, finance and economy. He is currently organizing a summit for
   Putin, Medvedev & Russian and European companies to discuss the financial
   & business situation. He also does a lot of business in Russia and places
   like Ukraine, Turkmenistan, etc.

   He is willing to talk to us about how he sees things shaping up there now
   (post-war) and wants to dispel a lot of what is in the media (ie, that
   foreigners are just going to run away from Russian investment).Anywaya*|
   he has asked for a big sitdown with me to go through econ, finance,
   politics of Eurasia post-war & has opened it up if any of ya**all would
   like to come. It would be sometime @ Oct 10-12, when he visits Texasa*|
   hea**s still working out the details.
    
   Ya**all interested?
   --
   Lauren Goodrich
   Director of Analysis
   Senior Eurasia Analyst
   Stratfor
   T: 512.744.4311
   F: 512.744.4334
   lauren.goodrich@stratfor.com
   www.stratfor.com

   --
   Marko Papic

   Stratfor Junior Analyst
   C: + 1-512-905-3091
   marko.papic@stratfor.com
   AIM: mpapicstratfor